Schedule of Upcoming NY State Minimum Wage Increases
In preparation for the upcoming minimum wage increases Accu Data is happy to show you how to update your employee rates of pay to remain in compliance with the changes below.
Please be sure to make the appropriate updates where necessary prior to December 31, 2018.
The Schedule of NY Minimum Hourly Wage Rate is as Follows:
|Effective Date||NYC – Large Employers (of 11 or more)||NYC – Small Employers (10 or less)||Workers Employed in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties||Workers in the Remainder of New York State (“Upstate”)|
|December 31, 2018||$15.00||$13.50||$12.00||$11.10|
Schedule for Fast Food Workers (per hour)
|Effective Date||New York City||New York State Outside New York City|
|December 31, 2018||$15.00||$12.75|
What is a Fast Food Establishment?
A Fast Food Establishment is any business that meets the following criteria:
- Primarily serves food or drinks, including coffee shops, juice bars, donut shops, and ice cream parlors; and
- Offers limited service where customers order and pay before eating, including restaurants with tables but without full table service and places that only provide take-out service; and
- Is part of a chain of 30 or more locations, including individually-owned establishments associated with a brand that has 30 or more locations nationally.
The list above summarizes several definitions that are published in 12 NYCRR § 146-3.13, which should be consulted for the full and complete terms.
Click Here for Full Definition of Fast Food Establishments
What About Tipped Employees in the Hospitality Industry?
How will the new minimum wage increases apply to tipped employees in hospitality? The minimum cash wage for tipped employees prior to their receipt of tips will increase under the following schedule:
|Effective Date||Tipped Employees NYC – Large Employers (of 11 or more)||Tipped Employees NYC – Small Employers (10 or less)||Employees in Nassau, Suffolk and Westchester Counties||Employees in the Remainder of New York State (“Upstate”)|
|December 31, 2018||$10.00
Tip credit: $5.00
Tip credit: $4.50
Tip credit: $4.00
Tip credit $3.60
The following states have minimum wage changes, effective January 1, 2019:
|Arizona||Massachusetts||New Jersey||South Dakota|
Click Here for the Minimum Wage Chart by State
Order Your 2019 Labor Law Posters
Click here for the 2019 Labor Law Poster Order Form